Candied Peel…The trauma of it all.

I have put off writing this post for a few days because having spent hours making candied peel the thought of talking about it made me want to cry/heave. Ok So here goes. Candied peel is a sweet preserved peel – usually made from citrus fruit. You can use it in cakes and desserts or dip it in chocolate for a fancy after dinner treat! I have made mine because I’m making mince meat for mince pies. (More on that later!)

Start by selecting and washing your fruit. I used five oranges, 2 lemons and 1 grapefruit. I peeled the fruit. Some recipes tell you to remove as much of the white pith as possible and others tell you to do the opposite. I chose the former option but in future I would leave the pith on as it makes for a more succulent peel.

Image

The photo above is what the fruit should look like.

Image

This photo is what the peel should look like.

Now you must put your peelings in a large saucepan to boil the bitter taste away. I filled the saucepan with 1.5 litres of cold water and brought it up to the boil and let it boil for 5mins. This step should take 15 minutes inclusive. You should then drain the peelings in a colander. and repeat this step FOUR times. Yes four times. I know, it killed me too.

Now that you’ve been bored to death. Add the drained peel to an empty saucepan, add about 4 cups of cold water and 5 cups of sugar – BOIL it up until the sugar forms a thick syrup. I made the mistake of adding too much sugar so my peel now look crystallised…But whatcha gonna do. Now pick out your peel – I used metal kitchen tweezers. Lay them out flat on an oiled piece of parchment paper and let dry over night. Store in a kilner jar.

556687_10152312535710508_1108163531_n

Leave a Reply

