Pimientos de padron….

Pimientos de padron are a little green pepper indigenous to Spain. They’re considered the ‘russian roulette’ of veggies  as about one in ten (or some say one in thirty) are spicy, but the others are mild.  As the saying  goes ‘Os pementos de Padrón, uns pican e outros non.’ This means ‘some are spicy and some are not.’ I really craved them and tried to find them everywhere. Eventually I bought them online from the Spanish Tapas Company, which delivered two 500g bags priced at £5.00 each. A little pricy but totally worth it in my opinion. They are so easy to cook. Just wash and dry, then pop into frying pan of olive oil for three minutes or until browned. Sprinkle with salt and eat. My mother also made some delicious potato wedges with dried oregano and sweet potato wedges with paprika. I made a simple sauce with ketchup, tobacco, Worcestershire sauce, squeeze of lemon juice and a pinch of brown sugar.

IMG_0002

IMG_0004

IMG_0005

2 thoughts on “Pimientos de padron….

  1. I love Pimientos de padron. Everytime I go to Spain I will feast on plates and plates of this…I am going to have hunt some fresh ones down now. Thanks for the tip about Spanish Tapas Company…I just did a quick google and apparently you can get them at Borough Markets too!

Leave a Reply

